In 1986 the HPA Hall of Fame was inaugurated to pay tribute to individuals who have made outstanding contributions to publishing in Hawaii. The Hall of Fame is intended to honor those who have devoted their time and talent to helping Hawaii’s publishing industry grow and prosper, whether their contributions have been in consumer, trade or visitor publishing; marketing, printing or education.

Hall of Fame Honorees

Richard Asbach (West Hawaii Today) – 2014

David Benz (Tongg Publishing)

Ted Dixon (Hawaii Tribune-Herald) – 2014

Charles Fern (Kauai Garden Island)

George Mason (Pacific Business News)

Ethel Murphy (Hawaii Business Publishing Co.)

Dave Shapiro (The Honolulu Advertiser)

Warren Stone (Stone Publishing)

Thurston Twigg-Smith (The Honolulu Advertiser)

Jim Wilson (Hawaii Tribune-Herald)

Lifetime Achievement Award

Elizabeth “Libby” Young (Windward Community College) – 2015